Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 07-22-2009, 07:16 AM   #1
BoomerandBoozer

Drives: G35, had '87 & '93 Z28
Mid-Life Crisis

I'm sure it's been discussed, but I'm starting to get very tired of people (mainly at work) telling me that I'm having a mid-life crisis by getting this car. I started thinking about this the other day and realized something interesting. I'm 44 and have owned a car for 22 years (Kinda late, but my dad wouldn't let me buy a car (new or used) until I graduated college, he said if I could afford my own car, I could afford to pay for college, of course I couldn't afford college and was lucky enough to have him pay, he was a military man and definitely lived by the premise - if you live in my house, you live by my rules). Of those 22 years, I have owned a Z28 for 10 of them, my first car was a '87, loved it, had it for 6 years until it was stolen, found in Newark crashed into a fence on fire, just handed over the title to the tow company. Thought I would grow up a little and bought a Trailblazer, hated it and when the 4th gen came out, just had to have one, got a green Z28 with t-tops, totally loved it. Had for 4 years or so, then decided to get married, my wife was working far from home, she had a lease vehicle that couldn't absorb the miles and I didn't want her driving my Z28 in bad weather for that long a trip. So I traded that car in for a sedan with front wheel drive. So it has been about 10 years without driving one, kids are now in the picture and yes I've gotten older and you may even say that i'm in mid-life, but I don't think it's a mid-life crisis, I think it's been a life-long passion.

So hopefully by Labor Day, my '10 ABM 2SS shows up so I can begin my crisis, cause it will be the best crisis I've ever been through.